Apr 15, 2024  
2022-2023 College Catalog 
    
2022-2023 College Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Visual Arts


Picture of Arts students working

Pima’s dynamic arts courses are offered for both transfer credit or personal interest and enrichment.  Study drawing, painting, sculpture, photography, printmaking, ceramics, and art history with our dedicated teaching artists and learn to work creatively, develop your critical thinking skills, and grow to your full artistic potential.  PCC’s Associate of Fine Arts Visual Arts pathway is geared towards seamless transfer to BFA programs at Arizona’s three State Universities.


Department Head:

Joe Dal Pra, MFA

West Campus, Room L-205, Mail Code 0170

(520) 206-3072

jdalpra@pima.edu

Advisors:  

Dr. Downi Griner, dgriner@pima.edu (last names A-H)

Fabiola Munoz, fmunoz@pima.edu (last names I-Q)

Melania Federico, mfederico@pima.edu (last names R-Z)

 

Full-time faculty:

Mariana Carreras, MFA, mcarreras@pima.edu

Joe Dal Pra, MFA, jdalpra@pima.edu

Matthias Düwel, MFA, mduwel@pima.edu

Anh-Thuý Nguyễn, MFA, anguyen2@pima.edu

Michael Nolan, MFA, mnolan@pima.edu

Mano Sotelo, MFA, msotelo7@pima.edu

Michael Stack, MFA, mstack@pima.edu

Hiro Tashima, MFA, htashima@pima.edu

 

Programs: Visual and Performing Arts, AFA  


Visual Arts Mission

The mission of the Visual Arts Program at PCC is to provide accessible high-quality arts education to the community.  We strive to offer an inclusive creative environment that values each student’s unique needs, talents, vision, and background and actively encourages creative and intellectual expression and curiosity.  Our wide array of courses blend theory with hands-on formal and technical instruction and we are committed to providing our students with all the tools necessary to think critically, work creatively and grow to their full potential.

 

“Pima’s instructors were and still are some of the most supportive and knowledgeable mentors I’ve had the fortune to know”

Anna Miller - AFA Visual Arts Pima Community College; BFA University of Arizona School of Art, MFA Yale School of Art

 

Program Highlights

  •  Seamless transfer to the University of Arizona, Arizona State University, and Northern Arizona University.
  •  Guest artist lectures and activities.
  •  Annual student exhibitions and events.
  •  Well-equipped, state-of-the-art studios for painting, drawing, photography, ceramics, printmaking, and sculpture.