Sep 27, 2021  
2021-2022 College Catalog 
    
2021-2022 College Catalog

Geology


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments

Geology students study the history of Earth, the ongoing processes that shape the Earth, and how humans and Earth interact.  Geology is a very eclectic subject that exposes students to the aspects of the nature of scientific inquiry, chemistry, biology, physics, and atmospheric science. 

Our courses can fulfill general education lab-science requirements and transfer to UA, ASU, and NAU, and are an excellent way to explore the world around you!


Department Head:

Noah Fay, Ph.D.

Northwest Campus, C305

520-206-2178

npfay@pima.edu

Advisors:  

Student’s last name: A-D  John Ocasio, jmocasio@pima.edu

Student’s last name: E-H  Athena Andriakos, adandriakos@pima.edu

Student’s last name: I-L  Erica Martin, eamartin@pima.edu

Student’s last name: M-P  Marisa Saxton, msaxton1@pima.edu

Student’s last name: Q-T  Christina Foglia, cfoglia@pima.edu

Student’s last name: U-Z  Kelvin Dean, kdean6@pima.edu

Faculty:

Beverley Everson, bemorgan1@pima.edu

Noah Fay, Ph.D., npfay@pima.edu 

Don Gest, degest@pima.edu

Anne Huth, Ph.D., amhuth@pima.edu

Nic Richmond, Ph.D., ncrichmond@pima.edu

Ross Waldrip, wrwaldrip@pima.edu


Department Highlights:

  • Online and face to face courses
  • Active learning
  • Hands-on lab activities
  • Field trips in the Tucson area and Southwest (e.g., Grand Canyon)
  • Discovery and analysis of dinosaur-era fossils
  • A spectacular mineral, rock, and fossil collection

 

Courses

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments